LPS History

As a state-owned university pioneering in Humanities and Social Sciences, Allameh Tabataba'i University (ATU) decided to establish the now Faculty of Law and Political Sciences (LPS) in 1997. However, the programmes in law were offered in ATU since 1987.

Owing to ATU's focus on the areas of humanities and social sciences and to address the society's needs in legal and political-science grounds, the Faculty of Law and Political Sciences was then founded and has, ever since, tried to include relevant departments in its structure. To date, the following departments have been founded in the LPS:


Since 1997, LPS has experienced 11 Deans. The Faculty is currently headed by Dr Javad Kashani, PhD in International Law. The previous 10 Deans can be reviewed on the Former Deans page.